Liebster Blog Award!

Greenwake has been nominated for a Liebster blog award twice in the past few weeks, so I figured it was high time we got around to accepting it!  Special thanks to A Green(ish) Life and Green Team Supreme for their nominations.

For those of you who have never heard of a Liebster award (like me until recently): it is more of a way of spreading the word about young blogs than an actual award. It works kind of like a chain letter.

Here are the rules: 

1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award Presenter on your blog and link back to their blog

2. Answer the 11 questions from the nominator, list 11 random facts about yourself and create 11 questions for your nominees.

3. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 11 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog to let them know they’ve been chosen.

4. Copy and Paste the blog award on your blog.

I am so new to blogging that until recently my only email followers were my parents, so I hope that this “award” can help others find my blog! In fact, I am so green at blogging (hah bad pun) that I have no idea who to nominate in return, so I will only accept this award in an honorary sense. I will however do my best to answer some of the questions put forward by misscorinne and tell you a few fun facts about Taylor and me.

11 Questions from misscorinne of A Green(ish) Life for Nominees:

Do you think social media and communicating online is helping/hurting human connection?

G:  I struggle with the internet every day.  I love the idea that anybody can read my blog, but at the same time I’m discouraged by the fact that there are so many places out there that those same people could read basically the same thing. On the other hand, there is so much information available but it’s incredibly difficult to figure out what is fact supported by cold hard science and what is not.  What I try to do here is sift through the internet to find those reliable sources for you.

What does “being green” mean to you?

There are two aspects to our green life: taking care of ourselves, and taking care of the environment. We try to live simply and naturally by minimizing unnecessary consumption and waste, maintaining a healthy and active lifestyle, avoiding toxic chemicals, shopping locally, growing our own food, and in general reducing unnecessary risk in our daily lives.  We are constantly planning future green projects and looking for little ways to achieve these goals, as well as trying to think about ways we can spread the word and educate others.

Do you do any gardening (indoor/outdoor, rural/urban)?

Yes! This will hopefully be a post topic soon.  Indoor urban apartment gardening it is, and I don’t even have a south facing windows.  Here’s a preview: we are in love with our little Ikea greenhouse and are planning new gardening adventures come spring.

You get to fly anywhere for free – where do you go and why?

Ireland is on the top of our list of places to visit. It’s so beautiful.

You get a large sum of money, but have to give it to one charity – who do you give it to?

G: I don’t know of any one charity, but I would certainly give a lot of money to my favorite independent local radio station, MVY radio out of Martha’s Vineyard, MA, which I grew up listening to. They lost their FM frequency in the past few months and managed to raise enough money to become a online public internet station.  If you like adult alternative music, anywhere from classic rock to indie to jazz, you should check them out at mvyradio.com.

T: I would focus my attention on education, particularly in STEM. The way we approach education in this country from classroom to bedroom is fundamentally incorrect.

You get a large sum of money, but have to spend it on yourself – what do you buy?

A tiny eco-friendly house with a really big garden.  Hopefully this will be another future post topic.  And a sailboat!

Favorite movie and why?

G: Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas.

T: Life Aquatic.

What guilty pleasure song/album can be found in your iTunes or movie in your DVD collection?

G: The guilty pleasure I need to own up to isn’t a song or a movie, but a beauty product that I just can’t part with.  Although my Estee Lauder perfume is full of god knows what, I love the smell and still wear it on special occasions.

T: George Jones Greatest Hits. I think I might be a cowboy/farmer when I grow up.

Favorite artwork and why?

T: Anything by Ofey. That artist is the reason I have and do science.

G: This is too hard.

Best advice you ever got?

T: Be kind to people. Be yourself.

What has inspired you lately?

G: Everything! I feel particularly angry-inspired when I see things like bottled water, recycling in the garbage, houses with every single light on, etc.

Also, the philosophy of Hans Jonas on sustainability ethics in the modern technologically-driven era. We have a lot of ethical issues in this country, particularly in the chemical industry.  The huge influence that lobbies have on the government makes it difficult for policy to include environmental and “right to know” ethics.

Leave a Reply

