Happy CSA Season!

Happy spring everybody! I have been a terrible blogger recently because I have had so much school work, but the semester is winding down and I am ready to get back to it.  There are so many things I want to write to you about!

First of all, in April we started getting weekly baskets of local food from our CSA! For those of you who are unfamiliar with Community Shared Agriculture (CSA), it is a way for people who love fresh local produce to buy directly from farmers.  It’s sort of an investment in a specific farm or group of farms, and you get a basket every week of what they might otherwise be selling at the farmer’s market.  It’s usually produce, but can also include dairy, eggs, meats, cheeses, grains, flowers, etc.  We’ve signed up for one of the biggest CSAs in the area, so we have gotten a whole variety of local food.  Our CSA suggests recipes for the food in each basket, which I have enjoyed as well.

polenta with mushrooms

One of my favorites so far was polenta made with organic corn meal topped with gruyere, chives, and crimini mushrooms sautéed in white wine, and broiled to melt the cheese.  Here is the recipe, directly from our CSA’s blog.

This week, my box included garlic ramps, a sort of wild leek.  I have never eaten or cooked with ramps before, and they seem to be a local spring delicacy around here, so I am excited to give it a try tonight.  I’m planning spaghetti pan-fried with ramps and basil, a variation on this recipe, served with broccoli.  Ramps also sound like they would be great with mushrooms and in risotto or quiche, so hopefully I will get more next week to experiment with!

To learn more about CSAs or find one near you, check out LocalHarvest.org 

5 thoughts on “Happy CSA Season!

  1. Pingback: An Introduction to Slow/Real/Whole Food (for my little sister) | greenwake

Leave a Reply

