DIY upcycled wine bottle “watering can”

Have you every accidentally crushed seedlings by watering them too forcefully? I certainly have, and it makes me sad every time. But never fear! I have created a simple alternative to clumsily trying to water plant babies with a drinking glass.

My lettuce is very fragile

My lettuce is very fragile

At first, a plastic water bottle with holes poked into the top seemed like the perfect solution to my seedling watering woes, but I don’t want to feed my lettuce water that has been stored in plastic any more than I want to drink bottled water myself.

 

 

Here is a more elegant (and plastic free) DIY upcycled watering can made from a wine bottle.  It’s super easy to make, and has a nice long narrow neck for reaching the bases of plants.

Materials:

  • Empty screw top wine bottle
  • Thumb tack

IMG_3683

With the tack, poke a bunch of holes through the top of the wine bottle. Take the top off and make sure the holes are unobstructed.  On my cap I removed a plastic liner like on the inside of soda bottles.  Fill the bottle up with water, put the cap back on, and that’s it!  The bottle doesn’t squeeze like a plastic one, but shaking nicely creates a steady stream of water.

__

Green watering tip: Reduce your water usage by saving water when you run the sink from hot to cold or from abandoned drinking glasses to water plants.

One thought on “DIY upcycled wine bottle “watering can”

Leave a Reply

